An Episerver block is created in one place, but could be published and reused on several pages. When you edit it once, this will effect all the pages you have put it on.
A block is an easy and flexible way to handle content. It is obvious to use it for content that is re-used, like an element about customer support used on multiple pages. In Visma we also use it for unique content.
An important reason to use blocks is that it is easy to A/B-test content through the self-optimizing block, and to personalize content via the Visitor Groups.
In Visma we use blocks in three places:
- All elements on start page and section page are blocks, including menu and footer.
- All elements on a long product page are blocks. These could also be used on start/section page, but it is not possible to use start page blocks on a product page.
- The content in the right column on a product page is blocks. This element should not be used on other pages.
Blocks in pane
There are three different places to put blocks:
- The ‘For this page’-folder. The content will change depending on what page you have marked in the page-hierarchy.
- The ‘For this site’-folder. When a page is created, Episerver will automatically create a folder in this hierarchy. Folders is sorted in alphabetically order. Please note that this folder will also be deleted if the page is deleted.
- The ‘For all sites’-folder. This is a hierarchy created by the editors.
You could always find and edit the block by clicking on it in ‘On-page Editing’ mode. A list will appear and you could go in and edit, regardless where it is placed in the hierarchy.
Choose the Blocks tab. Use the Pin icon if you want to keep the pane open while editing.
There are two main folders, For All Sites and For This Site. See guidelines at the bottom of the page for a guide when you use the two folders.
When creating a new block make sure that you stand on the relevant page in the hierarchy by choosing it in the Navigation Pane.
At the bottom of the Blocks hierarchy, choose For This Page. Create new blocks by clicking on the + icon in the lower left corner.
To get it out on the page you need to publish the block and drag-and-drop it into the page. You find the blocks active on the page by clicking on one in On-Page Editing mode or in the relevant list in All properties mode.
You could choose to place it in another folder if it is a block used on several pages. It should be in a place that is logical. I recommend the closest folder one step up for all the pages it is used on.
In June 2015 content on long product pages was automatically migrated to blocks. That content is found on the page in the For This Site hierarchy, not on For This Page.
Blocks are elements that are used to build the content on a page.
All blocks that only will be used on one page, should be placed in the ‘For this page’-folder.
Blocks that will be used on several sites should be placed in a folder for the business unit in ‘For all sites’-folder.
A block should never be used in several language versions. If an editor is copying content from another domain, the block should be created on the domain it should be used. Only the content in the block should be copied.